ANCAP Safety Rating | CMI Toyota

Buy a car with ANCAP Safety Rating

Buy a car with ANCAP Safety Rating

To promote the purchase of cars with very good crash test ratings, the Motor Accident Commission (MAC) and the Department of Transport, Energy and Infrastructure (DTEI) have encouraged motor dealers to display star ratings on all 4 and 5 star rated cars in their showroom and their lots - CMI Toyota are proud to be involved with this program.

ANCAP Safety Ratings Explained

Be guided by the stars.

ANCAP safety ratings are published for a range of new passenger, sports utility (SUV) and light commercial vehicles (LCV) entering the Australian and New Zealand markets, using a rating system of 0 to 5 stars.

Their star ratings indicate the level of safety a vehicle provides for occupants and pedestrians in the event of a crash, as well as its ability - through technology - to avoid or minimise the effects of a crash. These independent safety ratings are used to compare the relative safety between vehicles of similar mass.

ANCAP safety ratings are determined based on a series of internationally recognised, independent crash tests and safety assessments – involving a range of destructive physical crash tests, an assessment of on-board safety features and equipment, and performance testing of active collision avoidance technologies.

From 1 January 2018, vehicles will be evaluated against four key areas:

  • Adult Occupant Protection (AOP)
  • Child Occupant Protection (COP)
  • Vulnerable Road User Protection (VRU)
  • Safety Assist (SA)

A range of tests and assessments are conducted within each area, with vehicles required to meet minimum score thresholds for each star rating level. The overall star rating of a vehicle is limited by its lowest performing area of assessment.

To achieve the maximum 5 star ANCAP safety rating, a vehicle must perform to the highest level across all crash tests and assessments.

Which is the safest vehicle tested by ANCAP?

ANCAP evaluates the likelihood of serious injury for drivers, front seat passengers, and pedestrians involved in the most common types of crashes as well as a vehicle's collision avoidance capabilities. The test results do not prove which is the safest car in all types and severities of crashes. Consumers should look for vehicles that have earned the maximum 5 star ANCAP safety rating as these vehicles offer a high level of protection and are equipped with effective restraint systems and life-saving safety features and technologies.

Our most popular models, including the RAV4, Corolla, Camry and Kluger have all received a 5 star ANCAP safety rating.

Learn more about the ANCAP rating (external link)

Just some of CMI Toyota's advantages:

  • Toyota Access
  • Toyota Genuine Parts
  • Toyota Certified Advantage
  • Toyota Insurance Advantage
  • Toyota Fleet Specialist