2021 Toyota Yaris gets five star safety rating | CMI Toyota

2021 Toyota Yaris gets five star safety rating

Posted: 15/10/2020
  • 1220x686-Yaris-range.jpg

The All-New Yaris is available now at CMI Toyota and the 2021 Toyota Yaris has become the first city hatchback to earn an ANCAP five-star safety rating against new, tougher criteria. 

Find out more about the rigorous safety testing the All-New Yaris undertook and view our range through the button below.



All-New Yaris | Gound-Breaking Safety

Ground-breaking safety features, designed to make Yaris the world's safest compact car, include front-centre airbags, sensors that can detect vehicles or pedestrians at intersections when making turns*, and a secondary collision brake.

These new potentially life-saving features are firsts for the Yaris segment and being offered for the first time on a Toyota vehicle in Australia. They are expected to be progressively introduced to the brand's other models.

Other advanced safety technologies include a pre-collision safety system with autonomous emergency braking*, active cruise control*, automatic high beam, and technologies to assist with cornering*, staying in the intended lane* and detecting speed signs. A reversing camera and a full suite of brake assist and traction-control systems including active cornering assist are also standard.

ZR variants gain front and rear parking sensors* and a parking support brake system* that can warn the driver of objects around the vehicle and even apply the brakes if necessary.


ANCAP Safety Rating

ANCAP safety ratings are published for a range of new passenger, sports utility (SUV) and light commercial vehicles (LCV) entering the Australian and New Zealand markets, using a rating system of 0 to 5 stars.

Their star ratings indicate the level of safety a vehicle provides for occupants and pedestrians in the event of a crash, as well as its ability - through technology - to avoid or minimise the effects of a crash. These independent safety ratings are used to compare the relative safety between vehicles of similar mass.

ANCAP safety ratings are determined based on a series of internationally recognised, independent crash tests and safety assessments – involving a range of destructive physical crash tests, an assessment of on-board safety features and equipment, and performance testing of active collision avoidance technologies.


* Driver assist feature. Only operates under certain conditions. Check your Owner's Manual for explanation of limitations. Please drive safely.

Just some of CMI Toyota's advantages:

  • Toyota Access
  • Toyota Genuine Parts
  • Toyota Certified Advantage
  • Toyota Insurance Advantage
  • Toyota Fleet Specialist